2003 Merc C240 - Can't get any 134a in the system

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

rgnprof
Read the full article

2003 Merc C240 - Can't get any 134a in the system

Post by rgnprof »

My first post here - I replaced the compressor on my son's C240 years ago - maybe 6-7?? Never charged it up - did put the right oil in it. Not a car that he drove that much, so wasn't a priority. Just completed a bunch of work and went to recharge the AC. Drew a good vacuum and it held overnight. But I have tried to get r134a in 2-3 times now and I just can't get anything in to the system other than air! I know I'm getting that, because when I pull the gauges off and depress the schraeder valves, that's all I'm getting out - AIR!

I believe this is the clutchless compressor, so I'm having some trouble telling if the compressor is ever cycling on. I know it should kick on maybe at 60 psi (??)...

I'm not a pro, but I'm not an AC novice either. Just recharged my Subaru after tracking down some leaking o-rings, rebuilt my Ford E350 AC, but I'm not sure what's going on here? What am I overlooking?

Any help?

Thanks,
ryan
tbirdtbird
Preferred Member

Re: 2003 Merc C240 - Can't get any 134a in the system

Post by tbirdtbird »

How can you be getting air OUT if you are putting in 134?
134 has no color , I believe you are not getting AIR, but 134 back out.

This happened on this forum about 1 year ago from another poster
When considering your next auto A/C purchase, please consider the site that supports you: www.ACKits.com
atikovi

Post by atikovi »

How are you charging it? With cans? A drum? A set of gauges? From the low or high side? Need more details.
rgnprof

Post by rgnprof »

Sure feels like air - not very cold. I've seen 134a come out and this is not like that!

I am using gauges, charging from 12oz cans and only through the low side. - car running, revving to 2000+ rpms. System takes 28oz.