High-side Pressure is Low But Air Vent Temp is Normal

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

thartman
Read the full article

High-side Pressure is Low But Air Vent Temp is Normal

Post by thartman »

Hi,

I have a 2009 Hyundai Elantra GLS and I've been having some issues with my A/C that runs on R-134a.

I noticed at the end of last summer that it wasn't blowing as cold as it usually does. I started as a full-time Automotive student at a community college last summer and one of my instructors (ASE Master Tech) did a full evac/recharge to 1.16 lbs (factory load) on 8/22/22 but it still didn't feel like it was cooling as much as it should (I didn't test with a thermometer because I was a newb and it didn't occur to me). Yesterday (after putting on another 8,000 miles since 8/22), I performed standard tests at school to try and determine what might be wrong.

-Compression test (after reaching operating temperature) showed low-side at 29 psi and high-side at 110 with ambient temperature of 60 degrees Fahrenheit
-We did a full evac/recharge (it recovered 1.12 lbs, so a loss of 0.04 since 8/22), held it under vacuum and injected UV dye to perform a leak test. I checked with a UV light afterwards and there are no leaks.
-Compression test afterwards (after reaching operating temperature) showed low-side at 28 and high-side at 74 with ambient temperature of 53 degrees
-We placed a thermometer in the air vent and it was dropping to 40 degrees Fahrenheit, so that was normal
-I checked for leaks again several hours later when I got home and still no leaks.

So, my low-side is normal, but my high-side is much lower than it should be. It took me a while to find a R-134a pressure chart for temperatures below 65 degrees, but that also showed my high-side is low.

Does anyone have an idea as to why my high-side is so low?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
JohnHere
Preferred Member