65 Olds Cutlass new A/C with R134A

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

442scotty
Read the full article

65 Olds Cutlass new A/C with R134A

Post by 442scotty »

Newbie here... I have a 65 Olds Cutlass with factory air that I am getting up and running again... I pulled this setup off another car 30 years ago and at the time, my bad, when I started taking it off there was the slightest bit of pressure in the system even though it sat for many years.. Anyway... taped all the fittings shut to seal them from the elements and it sat for many years again...

The only thing I have re-used is a couple of steel lines and the evaporator. Everything else is new, condenser, hoses (eaton ez clip), drier and the compressor which will now be a new R4 unit. I also dumped the muffler and POA valve and installed a classic air POA eliminator with a cycling switch. I am now at the point where I am going to vacuum out the system as the evaporator has not been cleaned or replaced... Should have replaced it but nothing was available at the time.. now there is..

I looked up the AC oil which should be Pag 150? please correct me if I'm wrong. But I don't know how much I should use... Should I go with what the original system used for volume of oil?

I was thinking that I should add some oil to the compressor then vacuum the system with the new oil helping to flush it and see if it holds vacuum. Does this sound good so far?

If this is all good then I will start to charge with Dupont Suva R134A. I think these old cars used quite a bit of refridgerant so I will have to play it by (ear) eyeing the gauges.. Anyone who cares to guess at how much R134A I will need?

Any and all comments and suggestions will be greatly appreciated... I'm not new to A/C but its been 40 years since I did any AC work...

Thanks in advance for any advice
mk378

Re: 65 Olds Cutlass new A/C with R134A

Post by mk378 »