new member and have a non typical application

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

danev2
Read the full article

new member and have a non typical application

Post by danev2 »

So I am a mechanical engineer and I am toying around with an obsolete auto style AC system in a helicopter.
I work at Md helicopter in Mesa AZ, and we have a 80s era designed system, that used to use R12, tube and fin condenser/evap, but got changed to R134a and a sanden compressor in the 90s.None of the other components were changed.
The system in this helo and other models is really completely obsolete but customer demand requires a workable system to be installed. This unit as it is, is very inefficient, a large horsepower drain on the engine , has compressor failures (oil starve).
The design direction I am looking to, is to use micro extruded tube condenser and evap units. Redesign the location of the condenser in the nose of the craft and repackage all the housings and rudimentary ductwork.
Most of the applications I find out in industry are geared toward either large commercial building scale, residential. Or full large volume automotive production. I need to find a company that makes small scale pieces (8x12x2 inch ) and also make only a few of them on a custom order basis. My design limitations on a helicopter, are primarily space, then weight. Cost is not a real big factor.
I also need to find a relatively simple analysis program geared toward small AC systems, and use it for system level macroscopic analysis and system sizing (balance the condenser with the 2 evaporators, and the sanden compressor, then make sure it has the capacity to cool the thermal load of the cockpit. (in high temp- phx115deg AND high humidity (Houston, Mississippi, 90% rel hum) conditions.