Resurrecting 1970 GM AC with POA

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

TheBandit
Read the full article

Resurrecting 1970 GM AC with POA

Post by TheBandit »

Hi my name is Clint and I'm working to get the factory air working on my 1970 Chevrolet Nova. I am a mechanical engineer with a background on the theory of refrigeration cycles, but this is my first time diving into the practical implementation of automotive AC. I stumbled on this forum while researching POA valves a few years ago and I hope sharing my experience here will establish two-way learning. Thank you for any help/advice you can offer as I work through this!

The Car and System

My car is a factory AC 1970 Nova. I have swapped the engine for a modern LS engine, but I've kept the factory AC "suitcase" on the firewall, retaining the evaporator and all the factory controls. Here is what the car looks like inside and out:

The original system uses a thermostatic expansion valve (TXV) and pilot operated absolute suction throttling valve (POA STV). I plan to keep these components and the original evaporator and controls, but I will be connecting them to fresh barrier hoses, a modern parallel-flow condenser, new drier, and a Denso 10S17 compressor which I've tucked down low in the OEM location on the LS engine. I will also be converting to R134a. The system uses a two-speed electric fan for radiator and condenser airflow.

Theory of Operation

The operation of the system will, as originally designed, run the blower and compressor full time any time the AC or defroster is selected. The original HVAC controls have mechanical/cable duct controls to route air through the evaporator and/or heater core depending on whether the system is in AC, blend or defrost mode and incorporates a vacuum valve to open and close fresh or recirculated air. It also had a vacuum-controlled valve to shut off flow to the heater core when in AC mode.