Compressor works then stops for a day or two

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

Ulremember
Read the full article

Compressor works then stops for a day or two

Post by Ulremember »

Good Day All. This is my first post here and I hope I can find some guidance.
I have a 96 Buick Roadmaster Estate Wagon which I charged the system with autozone refrigerant. I did not use a manifold gauge set at first. AC blew pretty cold. I added a bit more freon a few days later. I turned the car off to go to post office and the compressor was froze. About two days later, I hopped in and turned on the ac. I had purchased a manifold gauge set and check pressures. Low side was about 40 and the High side was like 100. 80 degree day. I know the high side was low. So i pulled the O tbe out and it was clogged bad. No Metal Shavings Tho! Just gunked up oil (grey/black in color)
I have since changed the drier which had a bunch of oil in it ( I cut it open to see how it looked inside). I did screw up and poured the oil out thinking it should not be there DUH!!!!!!! I bought one of the Harbor Freight Pressure/Vacuum Pumps that uses air pressure. I am able to pull about 24 inches . Now, my questions are these: How much oil should go back into the drier and do the symptoms I Described Indicate a Failed Compressor?
Blessings To All And Thank you For This Forum!!!!
JohnHere
Preferred Member

Re: Compressor works then stops for a day or two

Post by JohnHere »

A gunked-up orifice tube like you described often means an internally disintegrating compressor. At this point, putting more oil (and refrigerant) in the system is futile if the compressor is already chewed up inside.