Why the change to: Charge by weight not psi?

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

jamyers
Read the full article

Why the change to: Charge by weight not psi?

Post by jamyers »

I've done my own automotive A/c work for the last 30 years, converted several R12 systems to R134a, replaced/repaired everything in a POA, TXV, and CC/orifice tube system over the years - so while I'm no professional or expert, I do have a fair bit of experience - and was wondering...

Why is it that within the last couple of years, the professional/expert opinions have shifted (seemingly dramatically) from charging a system using temperature/pressure to the latest advice of "reclaim, weigh, recharge by weight"?

It't to the point that I've had people who 5 years ago told me to charge my '71 Buick with POA and R134a using Temp/PSI is now telling me that the ONLY way I can get a good running system is to reclaim, weigh, and recharge by weight. Why was one method good for so long, and now it's completely unacceptable?

What's behind the change?
Dougflas

Re: Why the change to: Charge by weight not psi?

Post by Dougflas »

Well for one reason is the systems today use small amounts of refrigerant. Some use less than 2 lbs. So if your charge is 4 oz off because you used PSI and temps,your % of error is higher. Also, the older systems had driers that stored extra refrigerant for TXV's. Systems today use orfices and flooded evaps. Systems today also use control valves and variable capacity compressors, & thermistors that use computer signals & electronic blend door motors, It is a whole new ball game.
GM Tech
Preferred Member

Post by GM Tech »

I've done cars that with 1 ounce overcharge will cut out on high pressure- some systems take only 14 ounces or a pound-- very small room for error.
Cusser
Preferred Member

Post by Cusser »