TXV system with thermostat switch?

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

Miles B
Read the full article

TXV system with thermostat switch?

Post by Miles B »

Hi

I've been looking at a couple of universal aftermarket AC systems: Old Air Hurricane and Restomod Air Cyclone. Both of these are compact systems with expansion valves. I have noticed both also have thermostat switches. I am no AC mechanic, but I have pulled a few air boxes apart in my time. I've not seen an OEM system with a TXV and a thermostat switch in the evaporator before. I understand it is to stop the evaporator from freezing. How do OEM systems avoid this, or why do the aftermarket systems need it when the OEM systems don't seem to? Or have I just never noticed it in an OEM system and it is common?

Thanks!
DetroitAC
Preferred Member

Re: TXV system with thermostat switch?

Post by DetroitAC »

Oem systems use what is in effect a thermostat. There is a thermistor probe either in air or fins on the outlet face of the evaporator. Computer reads the temperature and decides when to cycle.
tbirdtbird
Preferred Member

Post by tbirdtbird »

Agree.
Those thermostatic control switches work well, and a TXV system is better than an OT.
The switch is more than an outright freeze-up preventer, it allows you to dial in a more moderate setting if the ambient isn't a full ripping 100°F.

An OEM system with an OT is at this point prolly the most common system out there, and the cycle switch is screwed into the accumulator which is on the engine side of the firewall.

Your aftermarket setups work just fine. Have installed several of them. Have no fear.
When considering your next auto A/C purchase, please consider the site that supports you: www.ACKits.com
tbirdtbird
Preferred Member

Post by tbirdtbird »

BTW as far as the Old Air Hurricane unit, I installed one in a vintage pickup not long ago.