2007 Yukon Denali – no air flow – freezing but not low on charge?

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

Dan-G
Read the full article

2007 Yukon Denali – no air flow – freezing but not low on charge?

Post by Dan-G »

Hi, I'm new here. I do HVAC for a living but I know very little about automotive AC.

I have an 07 Yukon Denali. It has automatic AC. It has a leak but it’s slow. I am a HVAC service tech but this problem is strange to me.

Here are the symptoms.

1) I vacuum down the system and weigh in the factory charge. The system pressures look perfect and the air is in the 50 degree range.

2) I drive for about 10-15 mins and the airflow comes to a stop – the fan can be cranked up all the way. The fan can be running full speed, no airflow through the vents.

3) Turn off the compressor with the * button and leave the fan on. Within a few minutes the airflow returns back to normal. I can re-start the compressor and wait for it to freeze again and repeat this process as needed so that I have AC on long drives.

I can only conclude the evaporator is freezing. I have not put gauges when this happens but I can only assume the suction pressure will be low. I am happy to try to get the pressures while the problem is happening. Once the thing thaws, the pressures are normal.

I have replaced access ports and the orifice tube, so that’s all fine. One day, hopefully I'll find the leak. It's a complicated system but I’m wondering if anyone has seen this kind of weird freezing behavior. It’s been doing this for the last year. No matter the state of charge, The AC works great for 10 minutes or so and then freezes.
tbirdtbird
Preferred Member

Re: 2007 Yukon Denali – no air flow – freezing but not low on charge?

Post by tbirdtbird »