08 Dakota / Cummins A/C help

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

evguy1
Read the full article

08 Dakota / Cummins A/C help

Post by evguy1 »

I have been fighting this problem for 8 years and decided to tackle it once and for all this week.
I have a 4 cylinder Cummins (ISB170) in my 08 Dakota. I could never make the Dakota ECU happy enough to run the AC so for the last 7 years I just had a pressure switch in line with a temp probe in the evaporator and a toggle switch on the dash. It worked pretty well but now I want to get the proper system running.
I spent the last few days making the ECU happy and it looks like I have no errors in the system. I can monitor the system and watch the dash switch signal go to the ECU and its request for AC but it wont turn on the compressor relay. I can also engage the compressor with the software so I know the AC relay and compressor are good and would receive a signal from the ECU. There is just one part of the puzzle missing and I'm at the end of my rope. I have a low/high side reading of 85 PSI when the compressor is not running and then when I manually engage the compressor I get 18 PSI on the low side and 180 PSI on the high side.
From what info I can find the 85 PSI should be in the correct range and not be inhibiting the engagement?
Any clues as to the last piece of this puzzle would be greatly appreciated!!
AC diagnostic screen.PNG
AC diagnostic screen.PNG (172.54 KiB) Viewed 3908 times
evguy1

Re: 08 Dakota / Cummins A/C help

Post by evguy1 »

I should mention that the whole A/C system is the stock Dakota system so there should be no compatibility issues.
DetroitAC
Preferred Member

Post by DetroitAC »

18 psig is too low, your evaporator will make ice in it's fins at that pressure. ECM is probably disabling compressor to keep you from wrecking it since you are probably low on charge.