Strange problem

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

alfalfa4381
Read the full article

Strange problem

Post by alfalfa4381 »

I am new to this forum, and glad I found it. I have a problem that I can't figure out. First let me say, I am 68 yrs old, and have always done my own mechanical work, from engine rebuilds to front end, glass work, paint and body, etc. I studied AC back in the 70s using r12. Recently I have a renewed interest in really learning as much as I can. Last year I started by getting EPA certification, and watching videos and reading all I can.
With that being said, I got a 2004 Dodge Caravan 3.8L SVT with rear air. I am doing my first auto AC complete rebuild. I got a Four Seasons Compressor kit with both Evaporator valves, drier, etc. I bought a new condenser, and liquid line. I took the rear unit out, and flushed all other lines and the evaporators using Four Seasons flush with a flush gun. Due to the long lines going back to the rear, I used about 4 quarts of flush. According to Four Seasons when I called their tech support, I should divide the PAG 46 half in the compressor and dump the other half in the drier, so I made sure the system had 10.1 oz og PAG, 5oz in the compressor (which includes the factory pre-charge). I also bought the FS Deslugger for the compressor. After assembling I pulled a vacuum for 1.5 hours, and let it sit for two days because I had other stuff to tend to. It held the vacuum with no loss.