71 Chevrolet C/10-Pressures good / air only cool?

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

phillipm
Read the full article

71 Chevrolet C/10-Pressures good / air only cool?

Post by phillipm »

So I've rebuilt almost all of the A/C system on my truck. New compressor, new lines, new drier. I'm also using a POA and TXV valve from a friend that had it working in his truck. At 80 degrees outside my pressures were 29 and 160 respectively @ 1500RPM with a fan in front of the condenser. Temp at my vents is about 49 at best. That's running down the road. Tube before and after the POA both feel the same cold temperature. Is there anything else that I should be checking? A bit of a noob here but very capable with some direction. Thanks!

Here are some pictures of the system..

Thanks,

Phillip
Phoenix, AZ
Dougflas

Re: 71 Chevrolet C/10-Pressures good / air only cool?

Post by Dougflas »

Are you using R 12? Sight glass clear? Disconnect the blower motor and the low side should be at 28 PSi. I used to be happy if those older systems were at 48*. You can check the TXV by removing the sensing bulb, holding the bulb in your hand for a minute or two, see if the readings change. Then place the bulb in a cup if crushed ice and water. The pressures should change again. What is the temp of the refrigerant lines? make sure your condenser is clean and not plugged (on the outside) with bugs. Clamp off the heater hoses or disconnect the heater. On an old vehicle, the seals around the evap could be suspect allowing air to go around the evap instead of thru it.
Cusser
Preferred Member

Post by Cusser »