1969 Camaro - looking for advice

Friendly format provided to inquire about automotive a/c systems.
Archived Forum

Moderators: bohica2xo, Tim, JohnHere

lannie
Read the full article

1969 Camaro - looking for advice

Post by lannie »

I have 1969 camaro, originally an AC car. BTW, a very clean well restored camaro. When I bought the camaro, the ac compressor was in a box in the trunk alone with a lot of other original parts. The compressor was seal and looks new on the outside.

The guy I bought the car lived in Northern US were AC was not needed. Doing the restoration on the camaro, the AC compressor was removed and stored in a box.

The camaro is in Louisiana now, hot and humid were AC is needed.

First of all I have limited knowledge in air conditioning. And I'm very caution on who I allow to touch my camaro. The younger generation service shops has no clue how to work on these old cars.

Let me first summarize what was done on my camaro.
The compressor was re-installed back to what appears to be factory equipment of 1969. Since I could not find anyone to help me with R1, I gave up and took advice from a local autozone (most likely a mistake on my part ) to convert to r134a. So I did the loaner vacuum deal, pulled a vacuum and added the premixed r134a/oil.

I followed the instructions and got "some" cold air from the vent. Maybe 2-3 def drop. After a few days trying, I thought a had a leak and gave up.

Fast forward a year now: now its hot again and my wife wants the AC fixed.

So I did some more research, before I found this website. I found a local (older AC guy) selling some R12. I called him and he offered to help me.

When he put his gauges on my camaro, the camaro still had a r134a nd it was still fully charged. Back a year ago, I just gave up and never ran the AC. He said I had too much freon, he lowered to pressure and we still had the same results as a year ago, 2-3 deg out the vents.

The local guy recommended the following: